Silver Nitrate Patina Research.

As Aluminium was too light in weight, I will use this as a chance to change my material and explore others, as well as improve the printing of my piece with more air risers.

Silver nitrate patina would coat the surface of bronze, making it silver. This solves the weight issue and gives me the aesthetic I was looking for. One of the foreseeable problems maybe it rubbing away after washing or repetitive use, leaving it look tarnished.

Siam560caf9c074db8266357f3f13b94eea9

Below are two recipes for the patina, as well as a supplier for silver nitrate. Saying that is it really easy and safe with appropriate safety wear. Although, once I spoke to Dallis. He told me the substance was unsafe and we were unable to use this due to health and safety. Another option was to do it alone at home, but Dallis was able to allow me to pour in Zinc, a solid silver, and heavy material.

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 17.21.32Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 17.21.58Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 17.38.13

Leave a Reply

